Kimchi turned 6!

Kimchi is at all-day school, south of the Han river, so Tofu and I don’t see him nearly as much as we see each other. We miss him so much.  School is stressful for him (he struggles reading and rather than spend more time on it, he avoids it like the plague or goes to great efforts so no one notices.)  Ironically, one of his favorite things is to be read to; so we have that going for us.  Anyway: by the time he gets off the bus at the end of the day, he is clingy and huggy and just wants to be physically close and quiet.  In addition, I got a call midday from the school nurse saying he had lots of blood coming out of his ear.  I took a taxi and picked him up and took him to the ENT.  His ear drum had burst.  (Ear drums heal themselves–I had no idea–but it could be weeks or months until his hearing is normal in that ear.)

In the beginning of the summer, we visited Kimchi’s great grandparents on their farm in Canada.  Kimchi LOVED horseback riding with Gramps and would ride for hours every day.  He rather ride than eat or play.

yep, still tied to the fence.

yep, still tied to the fence.

We spent the latter part of the summer at my parent’s place in Washington state. My sisters and I read to him the first Harry Potter.  Kimchi has a great attention span for novels; he would beg for more until we had read for hours without a break.  We read the first book aloud in 3 days.  Kimchi loves Harry Potter.  The school he attends here in Seoul is a British school; the students are divided into 4 houses and earn house points.  Naturally, Kimchi is exuberant about the parallels to Harry Potter.  The only disappointment is that the school lacks a Quidditch team.  For Halloween, he wants to be Harry and decided Tofu should be Dobby (the bald house Elf.)

He wore a fake scar on his forehead for several weeks.

He wore a fake scar on his forehead for several weeks.

Kimchi also loves Pirates. We had a combined Pirate/Tinkerbell party for Kimchi and Tofu’s birthdays.  It was a “drop-off” party and Kimchi was allowed to invite 4 friends and Tofu could invite 2.  We are so glad we kept it small and low-stress.  The party was right after I was asked to go on bed rest, so although I broke parole, D ran the show.

fake teeth made the boys look hilarious

fake teeth made the boys look hilarious

The scavenger hunt led to a Pinata!

The scavenger hunt led to a Pinata!

I made Tofu Miami Beach Cake shaped like a shooting star.

I made Tofu Miami Beach Cake shaped like a shooting star.

D made Kimchi a Pirate Ship cake (built out of rice crispy treats.)

D made Kimchi a Pirate Ship cake (built out of rice crispy treats.)

Kimchi’s school offers Mandarin classes–we thought it was kind of silly to be learning a language other than Korean when we live in Korea–but Kimchi was extremely interested.  He’s taken to it like a fish to water.   Anyway, when we were singing “Happy Birthday” to the kids, we did our usual English and Spanish (Las Mañanitas), then Korean, and Kimchi insisted on Mandarin.

I LOVE my boy to the moon and back.  He knows it.  He tells me so.  I tell him, he makes me laugh everyday–most often when he is telling me something in utter seriousness.  He is so loving and perceptive of me.  I am very lucky to be his mom. Here’s to an awesome new year!

4 thoughts on “Kimchi turned 6!

  1. Awww… Kimchi and Tofu are so lucky to be globally conscious at such a young age. It’s very nice that Kimchi is enthusiastic about learning other languages. I wish I started that young. 🙂 They are sooo adorable.

  2. wow! amazing what you and D can accomplish with the twins so close to coming. i am extremely impressed with the cakes. Props to both of you, I loved that stuff as a kid… and i still do. 🙂

  3. I makes me so happy how much Kimchi and Tofu loved riding horses in Canada.

    I saddled Kimchi, put him up on the horse, and untied the horse. Then I went in the barn to get my saddle. As I come back out, Kimchi’s horse is streaking past across the field, and Kimchi yells “DAD!! If you kick them they go faster!!!! YIPPEE!!!!!”

    I was so proud of how he took to it. And Tofu did an amazing job and insisted I let go of her rope and let her steer the horse “All by myself!” So proud.

Leave a Reply

